19 June 2011 ~ 37 Comments

Smart Living Steam Mop – A Review

Smart Living Steam Mop


smart living steam mopOne reason why steam cleaners are fast becoming essential home cleaning tools is because they produce such superb cleaning results. So few of us hardly have time to get down on our knees to clean and scrub our floors anymore—and steam mops lets us do neither. It’s a good thing that a steam mop saves us time and effort in cleaning, lets us get on with our daily lives and assures us that our health is not compromised.

Smart Living steam mops are very trendy these days because they remove dirt and grime effectively. Added to that, its attractive, modern design makes it entirely easy to use.

Benefits of Smart Living Steam Mops

smart living steam mop reviewsIt is not only convenient to use steam mops on floors but, it is also a lot healthier. Why? Because hot steam produced by a Smart Living Steam mop can kill almost all types of household germs. The lightweight built of the mop gives the users comfort and ease in using the product on their floors while the dirt and grime disappears. You will no longer need to fear the germs on your floors where your children or animals play after using a Smart Living mop.

Special Features of Smart Living mops

smart living steam mop featuresSmart Living steam mops has a special measuring cup included with it so that you can be sure that you are adding just the exact amount of water needed. It is very easy to use as all you need to do is add water, plug it in, and wait for a few minutes for the water to heat up and voila! You can now start cleaning. As you gently move the mop across floors, you will see that the hot steam it emits does most of the work. This product also has special reusable cleaning pads, meaning you never have to replace the mop. However, you can just wash the dirty pads in a conventional machine so that you can use them again anytime.

Helping the Environment

smart living steam mop environment friendlyThe good thing about steam mops is that you don’t actually need to put any chemicals in it for the floors to be clean and sanitized. This simple fact makes them much more environmentally sound compared to the conventional methods that we are used to. Chemical substances can be harmful to the environment but they’re not an issue when you use Smart Living steam mops.

Home cleaning technology has come a long way ever since the invention of steam mops. And also, with the introduction of Smart Living Steam Mop, it is bound to advance more. We would no longer need to work too hard to keep our floors clean. All we need is the power of water and heat to get amazing results.

BUT Should I buy ?

Based on several reviews from other blogs and comments, we strongly recommend that you do not buy. Eureka and Bissell are the top brands based on our research and we strongly recommend that you check out our steam mop reviews 2012, which we guarantee a piece of mind selecting your steam mop without worrying if it is a good choice.

37 Responses to “Smart Living Steam Mop – A Review”

  1. Sue Whitcomb 4 July 2011 at 6:07 pm Permalink

    This is the worst piece of junk I’ve ever bought. The thing has never worked and believe me I’ve studied the instruction manual to be sure I’ve done everything correctly. Don’t waste your money. Get a Bissel.

  2. Doug Redleaf 31 July 2011 at 4:39 pm Permalink

    Did not work anywhere near as well as they lead you to believe (no surprise), and broke down after 6 months of light and infrequent use.

  3. Karen Christen 2 August 2011 at 11:28 pm Permalink

    I liked my mop and love the ease and convenience of it. Only problem is after 2 years it just stopped working. It probably has a burned out element,but I don’t know where to go to find out.

  4. Susan Kay 5 August 2011 at 12:26 pm Permalink

    Mine has worked great for one year now. I have had no problems with it and even accidently used salt water in it once. It still runs fine. I bought a bissel for my Mom and it is heavy and not as powerful. Wish I could have found one of these for her. My only complaint is the replacement pads seem expensive.

  5. Lorie Easton 7 August 2011 at 7:21 pm Permalink

    Wow, I am surprised yours worked that long. Mine stopped after a day. Bought it at the fair and used it as soon as I got home. Stopped next day when tried to use it in shower like they said you could. Used distilled water etc. Piece of junk for $150.00

  6. Lorna 9 August 2011 at 2:22 pm Permalink

    Mine worked fine and then suddenly stopped after around 2 years of use. According to the above comments, it looks like I got a long run with this mop. I won’t be purchasing this brand again especially since it seems like I can get a much cheaper one that will do the job for hopefully longer than 2 years. I’ll go with the Eureka or Bissell. Any comments??

    • paullean 9 August 2011 at 8:01 pm Permalink

      Both eureka and bissell are a good choice. Depending on what you need, the price by differ by $30-50. Look at this http://www.beststeammops.org/top-rated-steam-mops-reviews-2011

      • enovak 2 September 2011 at 2:53 pm Permalink

        That would be “probably” not “prolly.” I think you’re right about the Smart Living as mine broke after a year, but your spelling makes you sound untrustworthy.

        • Paul 3 September 2011 at 10:22 am Permalink

          thanks for telling me! I never really bother the spelling I use, but I understand what you trying to say. I got it fixed..

  7. nittanyshadow 19 August 2011 at 5:34 pm Permalink

    Smart Living Steam Mop worked great for 1 year. But 1.5 weeks past the warrenty, it stopped working. Will need to look for a better one. At the price, it should most certainly last more tan 1 yr 1.5 weeks. Would not buy again.

    • beerob 16 November 2011 at 11:02 pm Permalink

      did you run tap water or distilled?

  8. tprawira 21 August 2011 at 8:25 pm Permalink

    I have carpet floor that dirty with grime and dirt (around the door to kitchen area) and for this sole purpose I looked for a steam mop. Went to Home Expo (Melbourne) yesterday, and although not for specific this purpose, I got hooked on the salesman that demoed the unit flawlessly on a piece of carpet.

    Impulse buying (for AU$299!), maybe I am – but this review is beyond impulse remorse. Quickly at once at home, I assembled the unit. First impression is that the stick is too thin, and the head is not big enough. Totally different structure to sturdy and heavy (need not to mention cheaper?) Bissel’s.

    Turning up the unit took about 30 secs until the first steady flow of steam came up. But that’s where the fun ends, if any. I tried to move the unit in same area, about 60 cm length, without the slider, with hard and heavy difficulty. And it barely cleans the carpet. Still without the slider, after about 5 mins of heavy back-forth still in that same 60 cm area, the velcro of the mop starts to give up, and the mop became un-attached from the unit.

    With the slider, yes it can move around nicely, but for next 2-3 mins, it barely clean up anything, if any. How it can clean the floor if the mop doesn’t even touch the carpet?

    Rate: 1/10 – 1 for the unit actually can produce steam, however useless.

    Why don’t i rate this unit for any other surface than carpet? Again, because this is the sole why i purchased this steam mop. The sales also fully understand that I care none to use this unit on any other surface, and convinced me that this would do what my aim is.

    Anyway – today i’ll return the unit straight away.

    • Vicky Holt 25 February 2012 at 6:15 pm Permalink

      This is not a carpet cleaner!!! either you need to pat attention or the people doing the demo need to explain better.
      I love love love my mop!! Have been using it for 3 years 2-3 times a week in my mud room. Ceramic tile. Worth every single penny. And let’s face it. NOTHING lasts forever people. Come on

  9. Sharon 27 August 2011 at 8:26 pm Permalink

    Hmmm….I was just going to buy some more pads for mine but after reading these reviews I don’t think I will. Sounds like it’ll die before I get to use new ones up…I’ll just make do with the ones I have. I have liked the steamer a LOT….very convenient and it makes lots of steam quickly. Not happy that it will probably die soon….I’ve had it for a year and use it once a week.

    • Paul 28 August 2011 at 1:17 am Permalink

      You may get a pad or 2 which should be fine. I do get a random mixed reviews about the product but I think you are the few lucky one that have the steam mop that last that long. But if the pad is still fine, I suggest wait till you really need one :)

      • Sharon L. 31 August 2011 at 7:48 pm Permalink

        I’ve had my steam mop for almost a year and love everything about it. Just looking up the reviews now to see if it was going to make it over a year. So, far no problems.. but I was just thinking… tick..tock… tick…tock… hmmmm

  10. Connie 3 September 2011 at 9:29 pm Permalink

    I have had one for 2 years. I like to use it when I dont feel like washing my hardwood on my hands and knees. I probably use it once a week. I started with 4 mop pads and I just ordered more as mine are starting to get grungy loooking. I only use mine on hardwood-but the whole main level of my house is hardwood. I would purchase this mop again.

  11. dale 9 September 2011 at 3:00 am Permalink

    This mop is junk. Don’t buy it. Had it for two years and it worked okay, used it only about a dozen times. Bought it at the fair and even bought more pads. 2 years and 2 days after purchase, it stopped producing steam and popped. Called customer service for advice and was told there’s nothing they could do. The agent was rude and only complained that he didn’t make much money (nothing to do with my issue), and said the person that makes decisions didn’t talk to customers. What a poor way to run a business. Rinky Dink Company. Would not recommend this mop to anyone. “Smart Living”, not real smart if you buy one of these at $150. Buy a Dirt Devil. At least if it breaks, it’s cheaper to replace.

    • beerob 16 November 2011 at 11:04 pm Permalink

      that sounds real shitty man. I love mine and I bought 2 from the same sales person 1 year apart. he was nice…didn’t complain about his job at all, lol. He did tell me that they are only distributors and that customer service varies from company to company. Maybe you could try through a different one.

  12. Janine 14 September 2011 at 5:30 pm Permalink

    Like everyone else, me and my husband got suckered at a home show. We used it 3 times on travertine and carpet. It did a ok job, but now the lights come on with no steam. Don’t think the company will call you back, because they won’t!!! Steer clear of this junky, (expensive) product!!

  13. maflannery 17 September 2011 at 6:24 pm Permalink

    I too was an impulse buyer at a home show.. something I hardly ever do…impulse buy… but was taken by the way it could clean all surfaces as I have laminate, hardwood and carpet in my house. Looking especially for something to clean my laminate kitchen floor that would not streak. I have tried every cleaner out there! Was disappointed when I tried it and still got a streaky floor and no shine result. In reading reviews I didn’t see any comments on laminate floors. I did use it on berber carpet in bedroom where dog sleeps and it did take out the “dog smell” and a small stained spot. But after reading reviews I am disappointed I did not research further to find that there are other makes and models out there for less!

    • Vicky Holt 25 February 2012 at 6:18 pm Permalink

      Streaky floors means dirty pads! Do less surface and wash with no fabric softener

  14. gail 19 September 2011 at 6:40 pm Permalink

    We have had the mop for 2 years and still going strong and works really well. Our home has all ceramic tile and we go from one room to the next. We go thorugh the 4 pads and if still need one, we put a folded washcloth on the floor and then set the mop and it and continue steaming. Not as good as the pads, but will help you finish up the current job. We bought it at one of the home expo fairs and have used it many times and would buy another one, if ever needed.

  15. Sunny 3 October 2011 at 9:24 pm Permalink

    Hate to admit it but after 2 years and 2 days, it died. Got no help from “customer support” so took it apart and found two areas where tubes to water intake and output have blown. It makes a lot of noise but will not steam. Sadly, I liked the way it cleaned my tile and hardwood floors. Will not buy another one.

  16. Shirley 4 October 2011 at 8:06 pm Permalink

    Love this cleaner. Use it on average three times a week and once a month cleaning the carpet in the basement. I have owned it for one year, so hope it lasts longer than these other comments. I find it is the best thing ever on ceramic floors. For the price I paid, so far have got my moneys worth and will buy another one.

  17. Kathleen Comeau 11 October 2011 at 9:15 pm Permalink

    My smart living steam mop lasted only 2 years…I loved it while it lasted but it sure seams like no one can make anything that lasts anymore. I will buy another but not Smart Living.

  18. Sandra 14 October 2011 at 6:28 pm Permalink

    Was given this mop 2 months ago by a friend who works Expo Shows and she was given it by the person demonstrating the mop. My friend knew I was seeing an easier way of cleaning my laminate kitchen floors and ceramic bathroom floor. I do like the ease and speed this mop allows in doing the job. So far I am very happy but…reading all the negative reviews causes me to worry just how long I have before it dies. Hope I can at least get 1+ yrs out of it.

  19. Linda Garcia 14 November 2011 at 2:59 am Permalink

    I bought my mop at the Minnesota State Fair this year. I have looked at this mop for two years and finally decided to purchase it. It worked great for one month and now it will not steam. I am very disappointed that I wasted my money on something that broke down so quickly.I will never purchase anything at the state fair again, I will purchase from local stores only.

    • Paul 14 November 2011 at 9:58 am Permalink

      yes, it is a common saying that you do not buy at a fair or exhibition because you cant get it fix under warranty unless they have a store nearby.

  20. beerob 16 November 2011 at 11:01 pm Permalink

    wow…1 or 2 years out of a steamer seems like a long time considering what it does. I like mine…have bought 2 actually, not because mine broke but because I wanted one for my mother after she borrowed mine so much I use distilled water in my iron and my mop….no problems so far, I do have to buy pads once a year but its a small price for clean floors. This review was good but gave it a do not buy based on peoples inability to use the product correctly. I bought mine at a home show as well. I was instructed to wash pads and use no fabric softener and also told me to use distilled water…makes sense.

    Now i do know that its not ONE company selling these and warranty issues are probably related to the distributor you buy from. Sucks for you guys. I have had the shark and hated pumping and the pressurized units just seem like a hassle….for 150…its not that bad.

  21. Jim Pitt 16 December 2011 at 2:00 am Permalink

    This has got to be the worse piece of junk I ever bought. It broke after 13 months, I phoned the company to get a part and was told that they do not service or have parts for thier steam mop. I asked how a company is able to sell a product and not service or have parts for it and was immediately hung up on the phone. I was able to fix it with a new switch, then the tubing burst inside the machine from the hot steam, fixed that, then the tubing burst again from the hot steam.
    Now it is going to the dump where it belongs.

  22. Kara 9 January 2012 at 4:54 am Permalink

    I bought this unit yesterday at the home and garden show…. I have two small children and a rabbit. Therefore I want my floors bacteria free (the easy way). I have laminate floors and this unit leaves streaks which they specifically said that it would not do – espcially if I used distilled water. Now my main concern would be my floor lifting because the water is also not evaporating like the demonstrator said it would. Not happy at all.
    I am going to attempt to return it tomorrow -

    • Vicky Holt 25 February 2012 at 6:27 pm Permalink

      Sounds to me like you are overusing the pads. Do a smaller area per pad. This is a great steam mop. It’s worth troubleshooting. Almost every negative comment I’ve read has to do with misuse. Hopefully you will keep trying and also hopefully you got it from a good dealer who will help you and answer questions. Stick it out it’s worth it

  23. Nancy 16 February 2012 at 4:24 am Permalink

    Buy any other brand. The mop stops working just about the time the warranty is gone (if you are lucky). Price is much higher than better made steam mops and doesn’t work as well.

  24. Christopher 21 February 2012 at 6:36 pm Permalink

    I don’t understand what you guys are all complaining about. This Smart Living steam mop is leaps and bounds above any store bought unit my wife and I have tried. I recently broke the handle of mine by accident when I leaned it against the wall and it fell down the stairs. I started looking at comparisons online just to check if anything better had come along. But the derogatory remarks on here are actually laugh out loud funny. Are you the same people that go to an all inclusive and complain about waiting 30 seconds for a beverage? What’s not to like about this steam mop. We’ve had ours 2+ years and it has served us great on dark hardwood, dark laminate, and carpet. If your floors are still not clean maybe you should use a little elbow grease. Seriously for $150, it’s a convenient floor cleaner that will last a few years.

  25. Elizabeth Jones 26 February 2012 at 4:17 pm Permalink

    Don’t waste your money! I purchased the Smart Living Steam Mop 2/25/12 at the Home Show in St. Louis, came home to read the literature on the product and was I ever surprised. There is no contact number for the consumer if things go wrong, but the consumer is instructed if the mop breaks within the 1 yr warranty to send the steam mop to an address in Jennings, MO, outside of St. Louis, that is a high crime area. Again, no contact number. I looked up that address on the county real estate records, and the residential house is owned by someone named Robert A. Cotton, Sr. I looked up a phone number for this address under anywho.com and got a phone number that has been disconnected. Thank god I bought this on a Saturday, because I’m returning the mop today at the Home Show. I will also register a complaint with the BBB, the St. Louis Convention Center, and the Consumer Protection Agency. I don’t want consumers to continue to be ripped off!

  26. Mary 14 March 2012 at 10:12 pm Permalink

    Have had mine for over 3 years with no problems what so ever.


Leave a Reply